HELMHOLTZ Centre for Infection Research

Scientists at the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI) investigate the mechanisms of infectious diseases and the defence against them. Subsequently, they develop the results of basic research systematically towards medical and pharmaceutical application. The scientific questions we are trying to answer include:

  • What transforms bacteria or viruses into pathogens?
  • Why are some individuals particularly sensitive while others are resistant to infections?
  • How can we interrupt infection processes?
  • How do we transfer our findings to application for human beings?

To solve these problems, we investigate pathogens that are clinically relevant or can be used as models for the research of infections. Understanding the mechanisms of infections then contributes to the development of novel, patient-tailored solutions for diagnosis, prevention, treatment as well as surveillance and control of infectious diseases.

Creator: HZI/Manfred Rohde I Copyright: Helmholtz-HZI
Goals

The HZI addresses the infectious disease challenges of the 21st century. Therefore, the centre has implemented its competitive programme “Infection Research”. The programme puts particular emphasis on the transfer of research results to application, on individualised infection medicine and the increased use of data-driven approaches for infection research, including omics-technologies and machine learning tools..

Heinz_HZI

We do have to deal with new epidemics or even pandemics. We therefore need to better understand the mechanisms and pathways by which pathogens spread in our environment in order to be able to respond to them more effectively. The question of the transmissibility of zoonotic pathogens, i.e. from animals to humans, is particularly relevant. This is exactly where our new Helmholtz Institute for One Health in Greifswald will start and make important research contributions in the future.

Prof. Dirk Heinz
Scientific Director of HZI

SAVE THE DATE

No event found!

Social Media Links

contact

CONTACT

Susanne Thiele
Head of Press and Communication | Press Spokesperson
Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research GmbH
SCIENCE CAMPUS
Braunschweig-Süd
Inhoffenstraße 7, 38124 Braunschweig
Tel.: +49 (0)531 6181-1400
Mobil: +49 (0) 151 52726060
Mail: susanne.thiele@helmholtz-hzi.de

One Health Research in Greifswald is funded by

EN

HELMHOLTZ-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung

Am Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung untersuchen Wissenschaftler die Mechanismen von Infektionskrankheiten und ihrer Abwehr. Die Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung entwickeln wir systematisch in Richtung medizinischer Anwendung. Zu den wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen, die wir bearbeiten, gehören:

  • Was macht Bakterien oder Viren zu Krankheitserregern?
  • Warum sind manche Menschen besonders empfindlich, andere dagegen widerstandsfähig gegenüber Infektionen?
  • Wie können wir in Infektionsprozesse eingreifen?
  • Wie übertragen wir unsere Erkenntnisse auf die Anwendung beim Menschen?

Zur Klärung solcher Fragen untersuchen wir Erreger, die medizinisch relevant sind oder die als Modell für die Erforschung von Infektionen genutzt werden können. Das Verständnis dieser Mechanismen wird dazu beitragen, Infektionskrankheiten durch neue Medikamente und Impfstoffe zu bekämpfen.

Ersteller: HZI/Manfred Rohde I Urheberrecht: Helmholtz-HZI
Ziele

Aufgabe des Zentrums ist es, zur Bewältigung der Herausforderungen beizutragen, die Infektionskrankheiten im 21. Jahrhundert an Medizin und Gesellschaft stellen. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte hat das HZI im Programm Infektionsforschung festgelegt. Das Programm legt besonderes Gewicht auf den Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen in die Anwendung, auf die individualisierte Infektionsmedizin und die Anwendung von Informations- und Datentechnologien für  die Infektionsforschung.

Heinz_HZI

„Auch in der Zukunft werden wir uns mit neuen Epidemien oder gar Pandemien auseinandersetzen müssen. Wir müssen deshalb besser verstehen, über welche Mechanismen und Wege sich Krankheitserreger in unserer Umwelt ausbreiten, um besser darauf reagieren zu können. Dabei ist die Frage der Übertragbarkeit zoonotischer Erreger, also vom Tier zum Menschen von besonders hoher Relevanz. Genau hier wird unser neues Helmholtz-Institut für One Health in Greifswald ansetzen und in Zukunft wichtige Forschungsbeiträge leisten.“

Prof. Dirk Heinz
Wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des HZI

SAVE THE DATE

Keine Veranstaltung gefunden!

Social Media Links

contact

KONTAKT

Susanne Thiele
Leiterin Presse und Kommunikation | Pressesprecherin
Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung GmbH
SCIENCE CAMPUS
Braunschweig-Süd
Inhoffenstraße 7, 38124 Braunschweig
Tel.: +49 (0)531 6181-1400
Mobil: +49 (0) 151 52726060
Mail: susanne.thiele@helmholtz-hzi.de

One Health Research in Greifswald wird gefördert durch das

DE