University Medicine Greifswald

The University Medicine Greifswald dates back to the founding of the University on October 17th in 1456, which also ushered in the establishment of the Faculty of Medicine. Today, the University Medicine Greifswald encompasses a wide range of services, bringing together 21 clinics/polyclinics, 19 institutes, and other central facilities. The facilities are grouped together at the University’s Campus Berthold-Beitz-Platz. This allows an efficient, innovative and interdisciplinary infrastructure.

The University Medicine Greifswald is a "maximum care hospital" with modern equipment. The special combination of patient care and university research as well as the training of medical students and young assistant doctors means that medical knowledge at the University Medicine Greifswald is not only at the very cutting edge, but that medical treatments can be significantly developed here.

umg2

Research at the University Medicine Greifswald is characterized by the complementary linking of research of community medicine and molecular medicine and the approach to individualized medicine (GANI_MED). Currently 608 staff members are employed in research and teaching. They teach 1,370 students of human medicine and 270 students of dental medicine.

The systematic and long-term development of comprehensive expertise in population-based medical research and comprehensive bioanalytical characterization of molecular basics as well as their combination characterize the profile of the UMG and establish its specific innovation potential. In the course of greater individualization of healthcare in the future, this will also provide numerous starting points for increased cooperation with companies in the healthcare industry. It is the declared aim of the UMG to continue to use its strengths in the areas of epidemiology, health services research, prevention and basic molecular research to provide targeted development impulses for biomedical innovations and effective measures to improve or maintain health.

Karl Hans Endlich

"Through its holistic perspective, the One Health research approach holds great potential for a better understanding and effective strategies to promote the health and integrity of humans, animals and the environment, for example in the fight against novel or long-known infectious agents. The University Medicine Greifswald is therefore contributing its human medical and epidemiological expertise to One Health research in a targeted and result-oriented way.“

Prof. Karlhans Endlich
Scientific Director of the UMG

SAVE THE DATE

No event found!

Social Media Links

CONTACT

Dr. Holger Kock
Faculty Executive Director
Tel: +49 (3834) 86 50 04
Mail:
holger.kock@med.unigreifswald.de

One Health Research in Greifswald is funded by

EN

Universitätsmedizin Greifswald

Die Universitätsmedizin Greifswald hat ihren Ursprung in der am 17. Oktober 1456 erfolgten Gründung der Universität, mit der auch die Medizinische Fakultät ins Leben gerufen wurde. Heute umfasst die Universitätsmedizin Greifswald ein weit reichendes Leistungsspektrum, in dem 21 Kliniken/Polikliniken, 19 Institute und weitere zentrale Einrichtungen zusammenarbeiten.Die Einrichtungen sind am Campus Beitz Platz zusammengefasst. Dies ermöglicht eine leistungsfähige Infrastruktur. Hier ist innovative, interdisziplinäre Arbeit gelebte Praxis.

Die Universitätsmedizin Greifswald ist ein modern ausgestattetes „Krankenhaus der Maximalversorgung“. Die besondere Kombination von Krankenversorgung und universitärer Forschung führt gemeinsam mit der Ausbildung von Medizinstudenten und jungen Assistenzärzten dazu, dass an der Universitätsmedizin Greifswald das medizinische Wissen nicht nur stets auf dem allerneuesten Stand ist, sondern dass hier medizinische Behandlungen maßgeblich weiterentwickelt werden können.

umg2

Kennzeichen der Forschung an der Universitätsmedizin Greifswald sind die komplementäre Verknüpfung der Forschungsschwerpunkte Community Medicine und Molekulare Medizin und der daraus resultierende Greifswalder Ansatz einer Individualisierten Medizin (GANI_MED). Derzeit sind 608 Mitarbeitende im Bereich Forschung und Lehre beschäftigt. Sie unterrichten 1.370 Studierende der Humanmedizin und 270 Studierende der Zahnmedizin.

Der systematische und langfristig angelegte Aufbau umfassender Expertise zu bevölkerungsbezogener medizinischer Forschung und umfassender bioanalytischer Charakterisierung molekularer Grundlagen sowie deren fruchtbarer Kombination prägen das Profil der UMG und begründen ihr spezifisches Innovationspotenzial. Im Zuge einer zukünftigen stärkeren Individualisierung der Gesundheitsversorgung ergeben sich dadurch auch zahlreiche Anknüpfungspunkte für verstärkte Kooperationen mit Unternehmen der Gesundheitswirtschaft. Es ist erklärtes Ziel der UMG, mit ihren Stärken in den Bereichen Epidemiologie, Versorgungsforschung, Prävention und molekulare Grundlagenforschung weiterhin gezielte Entwicklungsimpulse für biomedizinische Innovationen und wirksame Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung bzw. zum Erhalt der Gesundheit zu leisten.

Karl Hans Endlich

„Durch seine ganzheitliche Perspektive birgt der One Health-Forschungsansatz großes Potenzial für ein besseres Verständnis und wirksame Strategien zur Förderung der Gesundheit und Integrität von Mensch, Tier und Umwelt, etwa im Kampf gegen neuartige oder altbekannte Infektionserreger. Die Universitätsmedizin Greifswald bringt daher ihre humanmedizinische und epidemiologische Expertise gezielt und ergebnisorientiert in die One Health-Forschung ein.“

Prof. Karlhans Endlich
Wissenschaftlicher Vorstand der UMG

SAVE THE DATE

Keine Veranstaltung gefunden!

Social Media Links

KONTAKT

Dr. Holger Kock
Fakultätsgeschäftsführer
Tel: +49 (3834) 86 50 04
E-Mail:
holger.kock@med.unigreifswald.de

One Health Research in Greifswald wird gefördert durch das

DE